Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Baked

Across the road where the new houses are going is a big open field where the grading and moving of earth has happened.   When we had so much rain a week ago, this dirt was a muddy, squishy mess.  I know because I walked the dog on the new road going through the development.     

Today when I walked the dog there after the sun went behind the trees, I noticed the "baked" earth where there was probably a puddle and the squishy mess.  It is so dry around the edges it has started to curl up as the moisture is being zapped out by the hot days we are having.   You can see the shadows of the curled up pieces!

There are now 12 houses built and I think two of them have people living in them.   It really makes me sad to look out across the road.   There used to be woods here with deer, birds, and other critters.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.