Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Using the lesson prompts

I had a call this morning about 8:30 from my second cousin, Caitlyn who lives with her hubby and two sweet little boys, Rowan, 3 years and Finn, 6 months, about 2 hours from me.  They were coming my way to take Rowan to the Riverbanks Zoo at Columbia..which is 30 minutes from where I live.  She wanted to know if I wanted to come over to see the boys and enjoy the zoo.   Well, the first thought in my head was "Does she know it is supposed to be 95F today with a heat index of 101F?  But I said yes!

We got there about 10am and walked around seeing the animals.  Both boys were really good for being out in the heat.  There was a little kids water splash pad so Rowan had a good time getting wet there right before we were getting ready to leave at 1pm.   The baby sat in the stroller, napped and was only fussy toward the end of our visit..it was time for him to eat!     

Because I was at the zoo which I only visit about once a year USUALLY in the winter months, I made a note of the prompts from the first chapter in the Zen Camera book I blipped yesterday.   My collage shows three shoot from the hip photos..Rowan's head, a red flower and flamingos.  It worked out well at the flamingo pool as the fence line was just at my hip height.     I had the camera on mono just to see what I would get..good or bad (most were bad! ).   An interesting exercise in composition.   I did do some cropping on these photos to get what I thought were okay shots.  I don't really care for the red flower in mono..too dark but it was all just for practice.   This book really makes me think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.