Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Learning

I bought this book by David Ulrich because I love his photography.   So after   reading the first chapter I think it will be worth the money spent.    It is not about the technical but  about seeing and noticing the world around you in a mindful and contemplative way. 
  
 One of the things he talks about is the five elements of photography  which are:  the frame, the light, the moment, use of color and tones, treatment of subject.   Making a photo with these elements will make your photo spring to life.     I hope I can learn to compose better.  

He also says to make a Daily Record of photographs each week..possibly 100-200 photos a week.  In order to see what you are seeing.   I think I have that covered!    Blipfoto keeps me taking photos!

The first exercises are Look Up, Shoot from the Hip(no peeking), go somewhere new( I am all over this one!) and Make Love With Light!!..follow the light from morning until dark with the light being the primary subject or one subject in different kinds of light. This seems a good idea to do using monochrome.  So I have a project for this month.  

I may not stick to it but I will start.   Chapter two is called Awareness.  

I love learning.   I wish this book would have an online class as it would really be fun to do the exercises with other people.   


 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.