Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Mushroom

Working with the ideas in the Zen Camera book, I got this shot of a mushroom by putting the camera on the ground but not looking through the view finder.  I had the 50mm lens on the camera so I had to be sure that it was far enough away..about 2 feet, with the camera set on P mode and I selected mono for the picture style.   I took about 8 photos  around the mushroom but this one was the sharpest and best composed.   Which was a fail on my part..the lesson was completely opposite.     

I know that the whole point of shooting from the hip, or from the chest or setting the camera on the ground or any other way of not looking to frame the photo is   to help the photographer to remove the constraints that we put on our "vision" of the subject by framing. Thinking about that part of the exercise, I think I failed in keeping the true reason for the lesson..not judging what should be in the frame and how to set the subject in the frame with this photo.     In the extra is another shot..totally different from this but there is something there that I like..maybe the story of the grass/weeds and the mushroom in the background..together.  

This book is opening my eyes and my brain about many things that I just take for granted in how I use my camera.    See something, frame it, snap the photo.     I will be spending more time on Chapter 1 to help get me away from this type of thinking and looking at all the possibilities.   A little contemplation on taking a photo.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.