If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Chinese Dragon.

It may be Country Fest but the Lodge still needed Prepping for incoming guests.  So I had an early start and headed up the motorway.   After "sorting" the Lodge it was back down to Crooklands.

As I arrived the snarl of powerful motorbike engines could be heard from the area.  So I wandered over to see what was going on.  A stunt team were hurling themselves (plus bikes of course off a ramp through about 20 yards of air on to the top of a lorry.  Obviously I took shots but have decided against them.

The blip is the head of a Chinese Dragon Kite.  To really see what this beast looked like see the extra.  It was easier judge its size after it landed.  The tail stretched at least 40 yards down the area.

The Dragon appealed to me as many years ago in another life Clickychick and I made a kite known then as a Thai Dragon.  Nothing on this scale, basically it was a head (a horse shoe shaped kite) painted with a dragon face.  The tail was about a foot (30cm) wide crepe paper and 10 feet (2 m) long.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.