Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

History

You may wonder why this image fits Steveng's theme of history this week for Wide Wednesday.  Well  12 years ago (minus three days) a coal tanker washed up on Nobbys beach - just behind where these people are standing.  The sculpture to the right you will remember is in memory of that ship, the Pasha Bulker.  Today the weather was wild and the seas were up and as I was driving down to Nobbys I was thinking this was just like the day the ship beached.  12 years ago I drove down to Nobbys the morning after and stood not far from here taking photos and I have put one of the shots up in the extra.  I am pleased to say that at the first sign of an intense weather cell like we have just had the ships weigh anchor and move a little closer to New Zealand so it is unlikely that the Pasha will ever happen again in my lifetime.  It was a huge tourist attraction until they managed to pull it off the beach (see second extra).  A piece of Newie history.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.