A Short Back and Sides

Another tree over the railings gets a ‘short back and sides’ from the tree surgeons today. Having had to pay to repair the boundary wall and the railings smashed when another huge tree was toppled in a gale at the end of last year, the council are taking no chances with any trees with the potential to do the same.

It must have been cold slippery work for the men as the weather was dire again today with heavy rain and mist, although it has cleared up now.

After treading the light fantastic in an early morning visit to the gym, I felt I could afford to linger with my coffee and paper in Söderberg where it was a warm and cheerful island in the midst of rain soaked concrete and puddled roads.

There was a lovely phone call from my school friend who lives in London but who is thinking of visiting Orkney and wondering where to stay. I do hope she and her husband enjoy it as much as I always do. It’s hard to know what other people expect of a place especially when I have sung its praises for so many years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.