Memories

In my ongoing quest to declutter my home, I was turning out a box in my workroom when I came across this, my elementary school yearbook, class of 1959.  Looking inside, I was surprised to discover that I had been our class vice-president.  That can't have involved doing anything in particular, or I would remember it.  It's odd to read the inane things that 12-year-olds wrote in yearbooks back then - how completely unsophisticated we were.  

It was my job during sixth grade to read the morning announcements over the PA system each day and I enjoyed being special in that way.  I was generally recognized as the smartest kid in school, which, while it could be problematical, got me some great opportunities - participation in an educational radio program called "Science at Our Door," and a wonderful free month at a science camp in the Berkshires.  That kind of recognition made up in some way for the awfulness of home.  A really shy girl, I learned that school was the one place where I could shine and fit in - maybe that's why I got a BA, MEd, and a PhD!  I would have been happy to go on being a student forever.  I wonder what became of my classmates.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.