Baconsthorpe Castle

Last day of our holiday today. A sad day!!
Mr K and I took Archie for one lovely last walk round the heath before packing up. No snakes today unfortunately!
We decided to go to Baconsthorpe Castle again before heading home and I wanted to go to the church too so I headed off in the car ahead of Mr K and the Little Misses.
The church was lovely - I've been researching Baconsthorpe and the Haydon family for my book and it was quite something to stand where they  would have stood; pushed open the door I pushed open, looked out the windows I looked out of....... It may have made me a bit giddy!!!!!
And the graveyard was beautiful, full of cow parsley and daffodils and ancient graves. I made a note of a couple of names - Betsy Swan and George Bird Rust. They may make an appearance in my book!!
After I'd had a lovely look around I headed to the castle to meet Mr K and the Little Misses. It was boiling hot by now and we were jealous of the family sprawled out by the lake having a picnic. Something we'll definitely do next time!
We had a good time walking round in the sun, climbing up ruined towers and Googling whether there would have been horse chestnut trees there in the fifteenth century. There would not!!!
Then it was time to head to Back to the Garden for one last meal before going home and getting back to normal eating! 
I had a steak and ale pie which I have to say was one of the nicest things I've ever eaten. (see extras) It was amazing!!! Mr K had fish and chips, Miss E had chips and Miss L had a charred green vegetable and chicken salad with a poached egg. Delicious!!
Miss L and I are far more adventurous that Miss E and Mr K!!
Sadly, after a bit of shopping in the fabulous farm shop - pies, hyacinths, soap, buckwheat flour, chocolate tarts, lemon tarts and gluten free cookies - it was time to set off home. 
I had worried the traffic might be a bit busy on Good Friday but it was fine. I sailed home listening to the football. 
Mr K went on some bizarre route with the Little Misses and Marshall thinking it would be nice to drive round every roundabout between Holt, Peterborough, Northampton and home. Ha ha ha, my journey was much better/prettier/quicker/less roundabouty than theirs!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.