An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Rainbow Abstract...

Well today didn't quite go according to plan.

David and Kenny were supposed to be playing golf and Ele and I were going  out for lunch then possibly going to Potfest at Scone Palace.  

First spanner in the works was a call from Alan's team member Lisa to advise one of her other children now has norovirus, so she couldn't come to work this morning.  Ten minutes later a call came from Ashleigh to say she had succumbed to the dreaded virus too.  

With Shelley off with a broken ankle and Jordan already working most of the rest of the weekend, poor David prepared to contact Kenny to tell him he had to cancel their round of golf, but before he got the chance, I received a text from Ele to say she's not well, so the whole day was a write off.  

Nothing else for it but to have a tasty lunch at home.

Jordan arrived at 3pm and David headed off to the driving range and my thoughts turned to getting my materials ready for my painting course this weekend.  

The paintings I've completed so far have been created using my cheaper watercolour paint pallet or the Inktense pencils.  Today I decided to do an abstract using the Windsor and Newton Professional Watercolours that I bought for the course as I was keen to get a little bit familiar with the colours.

I finished yesterday's poppies first (see extra) and have to say that although I enjoyed using the Inktense pencils, I will watch a few tutorials before using them again, as they didn't do quite what I expected them to.

Anyway, I had great fun experimenting with the expensive watercolours.  I can certainly see why they are more expensive.  The colours are translucent but so vibrant.

I enjoyed doodling on top of the painting once it was dry (with my new non bleed pen!) to try and make some sense of the abstract shapes.  I ami quite pleased with the result but next time I won't rush to doddle as I can see much more interesting shapes now that I've been away from it for a few hours.  Probably better to paint one day and doodle the next.

I asked David if he liked this painting and he said yes, but I knew from the fact his voice went up an semi-tone as he replied that it was a wee white lie (almost thirty years married...there's no hiding place ;-)) so I asked him what it was about it that he wasn't sure about.  He said "I don't get the ink on paint thing."   I couldn't stop laughing!  You'd think I'd drawn a moustache on the Mona Lisa!  hahahahaha! 

But that's the beauty of art, be it a painting or a photograph.  It's all subjective.  

Have a great weekend everyone :-))

PS Sorry I've blipped another painting but it would appear I can either have a paint brush in my hand for most of the day, or a camera.  Not both.  Doesn't bode well for the next two days :-)))

PPS Anyone watching the new series of Master of Photography on Sky Arts?  Is it just me, or do they (contestants and judges) spend quite a chunk of the programme talking pretentious nonsense?  

PPPS Just remembered it's Flower Friday.  Can't remember the last time I blipped a flower on a Friday and actually remembered it was FF!   :-)) Thanks to BikerBear as ever.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.