An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Poppy for Remembrance...

Twenty-five years ago this week we were on a ferry to France with Ele and Kenny and nephew Andrew (who was only three) and found ourselves in the company of many war veterans heading to France to celebrate the 50th Anniversary of the Normandy Landings.  What an amazing ferry journey that was.

Watching the coverage this morning I was saddened to think that many of those old soldiers we met that day, are probably no longer with us.  

On tv this morning, one elderly war veteran was asked what it felt like to be a hero and his humble reply took my breath away.  He said, "I'm not a hero.  I'm lucky.  The heroes all died."   I'm not ashamed to say I was in tears. 

I was inspired to paint some poppies, not with watercolour paint, but with Inktense pencils, which are basically highly saturated pencils that turn to permanent ink when water is washed over them.  I've never used them before but decided to have a go.  

They take quite a bit of getting used to, so sadly I didn't manage to finish the work before my hands and eyes had grown tired, so will have to complete it another day, but I wanted to blip it regardless as my own, quiet tribute to a very special generation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.