Breakey Blips

By ElizabethB

Bluebell jumper.

I discovered something about myself whilst working on this lambswool Shetland yoke jumper - I can't read theology and knit. They are mutually exclusive activities for me.

So this jumper - started in late July 2018 has been finished almost 11 months later.

I need to focus on my tension, or sizing to accommodate it, as again the sleeves were too long. I finished it close to Easter, actually, but the sleeves were too long, the rib cuffs were restrictive and the neck looked old fashioned and far too wide.

So I cut off the bottom of the sleeves, designing one that is looser and will allow another layer underneath, then mirrored the cuff style in the neck- suddenly it started to look like something that a 15year old would voluntarily wear.

To disguise the graft of the sleeves, I embroidered a large bluebell on each which seems to have done the job!

After dreading the rescue job which was ominously waiting for me to finish the semester, I ended up being rather pleased with it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.