Prizegiving

An early start, for me, at the flat for the plumber, and speak to Alfie, #3'son's cat, and then off to Inverleith for a casting lesson. My first visit to the park and 18 years since I held a rod. The sun shone on me and I did quite well, muscle memory? My back cast is better than my forward so practising in Liberton Park beckons.

Home to do some online shopping before another go at the lilac tree and mowing the lawn before the rain arrives.

Finally to the Granton Campus for the College Prizegiving, with E always an inspiring event. I was presenting a group certificates which went well.. Spoke to quite a few folk and enjoyed the student made canapes.

It was after 8 before I got home so heels off and tried to catch up with 63 Up. The rain had arrived.

Today is D-Day +1.  My almost 25 year old uncle landed on the Normandy beaches 75 years ago in his tank.  He made it all the way to Germany and died 12 years ago. My almost 94 year old mother was in the WRNS in 1944 and remembers D-Day but without the nostalgia and sentimentality that is around this week.  We were in the US Omaha cemetery in 1996.  You can't forget such a sight, but we do need to move on. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.