Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Chillin"

There are two Blue Jays visiting our yard who are quite bold when peanuts are involved.  I almost had this one take a peanut from my hand today, but he just couldn't quite get over his natural skittishness.  I'm patient, though...and I have a lot of peanuts.  

Blue jays are in the corvidae family and are very clever birds.  They are capable of some impressive mimicry and seem to enjoy scaring all the other birds with their impressions of red-shouldered hawks.  They are also very quick to sound the alarm when real hawks are in the area, which makes them beneficial to the littler birds.  This one watched while Xena (the warrior chipmunk) buried her peanut in a flower pot. As soon as she was gone, the jay flew over, pecked around in the soil until he found the peanut, and flew off with it.  So funny.

We got our new air con installed and it is now blissfully cool upstairs.  A long process getting all the components installed, but we shall certainly sleep better now.  

And speaking of sleeping, I escaped the noise and bustle of the house and went out to the RV this afternoon and had a lovely long nap.  I drifted off to the sound of the House Wren singing outside the RV window and had very pleasant dreams.  I'm afraid I have not much to show for today in terms of accomplishments.  But tomorrow is another day.

By the way, if you'd like to see a few other shots from my outing yesterday, I've posted 3 images on Flickr starting HERE - two dragons and a stonefly.

Thanks for stopping by...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.