Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Eastern Phoebe

I had a great outing today with my naturalist group. We managed to see/hear a good selection of birds as well as seeing a load of interesting insects.  Actually, this Eastern Phoebe was the only bird I photographed today.  I was going to blip an insect, but I just really like this shot.  Her nest was right on the bridge we were standing on, and while we were looking over the water for dragons and such, she perched on a limb and preened.  A nice warm day, so no need to brood her eggs.  

The stars of the day were definitely the insects.  Contrasting to this same time last year, the bug diversity is definitely better.  The two areas we were walking in were loaded with dragonflies and damselflies as well as some fascinating large flies (fishflies and stoneflies).  Add to that some butterflies, moths and frogs and you have all the ingredients for a good day.  

Thank you for all the love on my little hummingbird yesterday.  I'm looking forward to July when their numbers in my garden usually explode.  

Tomorrow morning we are scheduled to have our new upstairs air-con unit installed.  A big expense, but necessary with summer coming.  And, at nearly 18 years old, the original air con served us well.

Here's to a good weekend!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.