Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Ringlet

What a nice surprise to see this small member of the subfamily Satyr fluttering around in the garden today.  I am not positive, but this may be the first time I've recorded this particular species here in our yard - it's a Common Ringlet (Coenonympha tullia).  And it was nice enough to sit still on the ground for a photo.  Considering that it is quite windy out, I appreciated the ground perch.

The day started with a nice long chat with my parents who are navigating through the reopening of Oregon, cautiously and slowly.  Rain has kept them in for the last few days, along with back pain (dad, you are going to call the doctor tomorrow, right?)  As usual, we talked about this, that, and the other.  They had some words of wisdom on the war we've waged on the mice in the RV (and on that note, another mouse was successfully trapped and relocated last night).

This afternoon, I am going to get to see one of my besties for the first time since this whole Covid 19 thing started!  Ellen is going to drive up and have wine on the patio with us later this afternoon, from a safe social distance of course.  Its going to be hard not to hug her, but I must refrain.  She is the friend who just lost her mum, so the lack of a hug will be hard for both of us.  I can't wait to see her though.  I don't consider myself to be an especially social person, but I am feeling the strain of not seeing my friends right now.

In addition to the mouse that was trapped in the RV (that's #3 for those keeping count from home), we also trapped a mouse in the garage.  We don't usually ever see mice near the house but I think all the clearing we've done in the "wild" areas around the house have displaced some of them.  Well, we've got two humane traps and we are prepared to use them as often as needed!  We will not be beaten by tiny rodents... (famous last words)...

Be safe. Be kind.  Be loving.

xo
Debbi

PS:  and in nest box news...one of the House Wren broods has started hatching today and there was at least one little tulip shaped mouth gaping when I stuck the phone in the box just now.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.