A test 'Sit'!

You would normally go for a test ride but after pulling a hamstring on Thursday evening I thought I'd better have a test sit on the potential replacement for the CTX1300.
On Thursday I mentioned that I attended the wreath laying ceremony for D-Day at the Gloucester War Memorial. What I didn't tell you was that while mounting the kerb to park with the other, much smaller, bikes I lost my oomph for the back wheel and as a consequence over I went again. In the process of trying to stop it I pulled a muscle in the top, back, of my right leg.
So the reminder that I was going to look for a smaller, lighter, bike was put to me when I got home. Doing a quick search I found that Thunderroad have a Harley Davidson XL1200T, but no photograph. I contacted the salesman that I know and he said come on down. It had only just come in so had not been valeted but I was welcome to go and see it.
I went this morning, I could see through the dirt that it was in immaculate condition. I had a sit on the throbbing big 1200 V-Twin engine and it felt good. Not like the CTX, nothing can compare with that but it did feel good. Had a good look around the controls, how I can fit a top box, flicked through the various trip/gear indicator/mileage/ etc. settings on the dial and felt quite at home.
When the leg gets better, if they haven't sold it in the meantime, I'll take a test ride after next weekend when I'm attending the RBLR1000 to help them out with Marshalling.
I didn't take a photo by the way, the blip is a photo of a photo but it is the same bike, same colour, different background!
I think I might have found the replacement bike, particularly as it is 100kg lighter than the CTX.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.