Not as it seems

We spent a leisurely day meandering vaguely south through the top right corner of France. We spotted a lake on the way which was marked on the map with lookout points and a couple of campsites. Ideal we thought. It turns out to be a man made lake built we think as a bird reserve. You can see the man made edging in the picture.There is a load of sand dumped at one end, and kids playing in the water. I wouldn’t have let mine go anywhere near it, it’s scummy and dirty looking with more biting type insects than I’ve ever come across. I got a big itchy bite as soon as we parked up and a few more since.
It’s not all bad though, we’ve got luscious tartes au fraises to eat for pudding. They are delicious!
And we can pick up BBC by satellite so I’ll be watching Gentleman Jack later which I’m quite enjoying.
The photo shows the Lake, Lac du Der- Chantecoq
Don’t bother.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.