Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

In its Natural Environment

I so often take photographs of goldfinches using our bird feeders in the garden, it was a pleasure to see one collecting seeds in its natural environment, amongst the rape seed plants in a local field.

The day started sunny and bright, so I walked down to the local nature reserve with the 200-500mm lens.  I managed to make a couple of images I liked (see extras); something I've been struggling with in recent times.  I'm sure it is the quality of light that inspires me and although the light wasn't that special for the main image, I still chose it as it was something different for me.

When I got home I was sitting in the conservatory when there was a 'thump' at the window.  The cat immediately sprang to life, jumping up onto the window sill.  I had a good idea what it might be and sure enough a fledgling goldfinch was lying on the patio, clearly shocked by the suddenness of its flight ending.

I couldn't leave it there, if only because the patio was frequented by a number of local cats, so I went out and picked it up (see extra) and placed it out of the way in the hope it might recover.  Sadly it expired soon after.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.