Maggie @ Abingdon

By MaggieJH

Water , water everywhere

Hope you all had a lovely Christmas. I did, but it was great to escape this afternoon on my bike and get some fresh (and damp!) air. Is there no end to this rain?

My previous blip, almost a week ago now, commented on the Thames over-spilling its banks. The over-spill has now developed into a full scale flood - although thankfully no streets are under water yet.

The barges in the background show you where the banks of the Thames should be. Goodness knows how many times the garden, right, has been flooded this year. If you have time look in large to see the semi-submerged garden furniture and children's slide. A solitary garden gnome seems to be sheltering behind some flower pots.

Taken from Burford Bridge, one of two bridges that spans the Thames in Abingdon. The water under Abingdon Bridge was also extremely high, and Nag's Head Island (which sits in the middle of the river between the two bridges) has almost disappeared! To the south of the river the cricket pitch is completely submerged.

Weather permitting, I hope to be blipping from elsewhere for the next couple of days. Forgive me if my commenting is slow but I will catch up when I can.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.