An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

The Dead Vines

The last of my four Blips posted today, from over the Christmas period, at my father's farm.

When I told my elderly Aunt that I had photographed the sunrise (yes, yes, she enthused) but from the inside of a polytunnel, that look wilted to one of pity and a sense of semi-mistrust...

Had I also told her that I'd used the full-frame fisheye (again! - see the horse portrait for yesterday) and had stuck my tripod in the mud pointing at some vines that bore fruit in the summer, but now were quite dead and rizzled, then, well, thank goodness I didn't go on to tell her that much.

But that was essentially what I did and what of. Many will want it cropped at the top but for me it needs that space and the final curve at the top. I added some vignetting to darken the corners and to emphasise the light where the central subject was.

My Blip for 18.10 shows these vines in their fruitful glory - and taken with a rather less wide lens.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.