Wasted Opportunities

I am aware constantly that I am grumpy, and work harder every day to mitigate the interminable inner call to scream until I explode. 
Nod to Sheol; I'll be fine. :-) 

It's just that with impending climate catastrophe, biodiversity loss, the world wide resurgence of the Far Right, Brexit, and Bloody Stupid Johnson and his self-serving cronies, I'm finding myself under the black dog every. single. day. I meditate, rather than medicate, to alleviate this burden, but every now and then there's a straw, and a wearisome camel.

When the local authority refurbished this Local Equipped Area for Play (LEAP), they installed this bench incorrectly. Raising this with them had no effect at all, and since the Parish Council had no say in it or its design and maintenance we shut up. Today I see it's already rotting away, and filled with rainwater because of the aforementioned installation.

It's such a shame, because as you can see the work that went into it was not insignificant, not to mention the beautiful and massive tree that provided the wood. No-one will ever sit on it, and the art will be little more than a temporary memorial to the inspired lack of a spirit level and a coat of tung oil.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.