Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Small Pleasures

I have spent the day either in the bed or on the couch reading or napping after some nasty virus (chills, aches etc) attacked from nowhere less than 24 hours ago.  Decided late afternoon I best go outside and walk around, do a few things…. but here I am just sitting at my studio desk without a photo.     So…… a few days ago, blipper PaulaJ blipped a Machu Pichu puzzle along with her fine photograph from there —same spot I think as this wee painting. I don't remember our year..1990 something... And we commented how it was one of the most special trips we’ve had.    (That’s Venice on the left..my favorite city in the world,  and I left in the paper mache chicken and a Mayan figure from Chichen Itza Mexico on the window sill.   I like looking at these.  If you look large you can see 4 tiny figures who have climbed to the top of Huayna Pichu overlooking Machu Pichu (there were NO lines back when we did this!)    I just realized this is fitting as the other 2 little figures are arriving here at the island tomorrow !…it’s book club time.  Went on this fabulous trip with 2 other couples…but H was the only guy not sick or injured that could climb up here with us 3 girls! Can you imagine how that went over?   :-)   (It was a bit hairy -we had to go down backwards part of the way … there were some lines to hold but many were broken.)  I also just realized that those 2 men have now died.   Creepy. 

I thought this was an innocent quick little Emergency Blip, but it has powerful memories.    Well, it’s time to get back on the couch and hope I feel a lot better tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.