my next door neighbor is flying the rainbow flag

The year before last (I think) an immigrant boy raped a girl inside the high school across the street. Puppet was already making hateful remarks about immigrants. I knew it was a matter of time before he specifically mentioned this and yes, within two days he did. We had protesters that I walked by while walking my dog, carrying my sign about immigrants being welcome. I went off on some of them. Our town had been planning to become a welcoming community before the rape and I testified before the city council. It wasn't long enough after the accident. I didn't drive there because I knew I probably couldn't park safely, but I testified and I was fierce. I told them using this incident would be despicable and that if they wanted their daughters to be safe they should teach their sons not to rape. Many other people testified more eloquently, but several people thanked me for my testimony, so I added something.

With all of the nastiness I wanted to fly the Pride flag from our deck, defiantly. Karen did not. She was afraid people would attack our house. 

This morning my next door neighbor was flying a Pride flag, for us. She said if it made Karen nervous, for being too close, she would take it down, but she was flying it for us. 

How beautiful is that?

There is an article saying that support for transexuals has skyrocketed over the last few years. I believe it is largely a backlash against Puppet's hate. I think he has been so horrid that he has caused people to feel more support for those he is hateful to. 

It might be small compensation for his making people feel they have free reign to attack people, but I think the backlash against the hate could lead to a much better future once we've removed him. 

There are lovely blue wildflowers blooming nowadays. This is what they look like in the rain, all closed up.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.