Silly Saturday: Silly Pictures!

I took my Dad shopping this morning while my Editor & Son#1 had a quick trip to the coast. I then met them after they'd moved back to the city, at the Baltic Art Centre as there were some exhibits there which we'd not yet seen. This led to an interesting discussion with our son about what makes "good" art and "bad" art (we disagreed about the value of one of the installations), which in turn led to further debate as to whether or not beauty is solely in the eye of the beholder and therefore whether or not it's possible actually to say that one piece of art (or literature, or films, etc) is "better" than another. (Note: Son#1 is a philosopher with a particular interest in the work of 18th-Century philospher David Hume who apparently posed this very question. Needless to say I lost the argument. How silly to try to argue with a philosopher!)

Anyway, we then retired to The Sage for tea and cake, and popped round the back to look at the murals in the arches behind it. I thought this rather chaotic scene was probably silly enough to qualify for the Silly Saturday challenge - kindly hosted by admirer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.