Baddesley Clinton

We had a fabulous Mother's Day outing to Baddesley Clinton today. 
I last went there over eleven years ago before Miss E was born. We had been due to go on holiday to Venice for my birthday but we had to cancel and I didn't want to sit at home for days feeling sorry for myself so we had a few outings.
I have no recollection of it whatsoever as I was quite ill. And in complete denial that I was quite ill!!
Today was lovely. It was sunny; the house and gardens were beautiful and interesting, lunch was tasty as ever - always love a National Trust cafe!! 
The Spring flowers were incredible - the smell of these borders was amazing! 
As was the smell of the furniture polish in the house. My God, it would almost make me want to clean and polish my house!!
I think it's my new favourite National Trust property (see extras) and only forty five minutes from our house. We need to go more often!
From there we drove the few miles down the road to Hatton Locks which we discovered last year (having no idea it was so close to Baddesley Clinton!) We had a walk along the canal and tea and tea-cakes in the cafe.
Miss L managed to slip crossing a lock gate and almost fall in at one point but thankfully somehow managed to hold on and ended up dangling over the lock holding on one-handed before somehow clambering back up. I need to stop thinking about what might have happened.
And perhaps never go there again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.