flavia13

By flavia13

HAWESWATER

Had a good sleep last night.  We were going to go the U3A monthly meeting as we haven't been for a while but they'd changed the talks around and we just decided not to go.  Hubby wanted to get on and do things around the house.  As I will have to be in tomorrow to get G's room ready for his visit on Friday I wanted to go out.

I grabbed the camera and went to Haweswater.  I haven't been for a couple of years.  Even at 10.30 in the morning I couldn't get in the little car park at Marsdale Head.  I managed to pull into a sort of layby and park there.  For all that there were only a few people around, most had headed up over the fells and mountains I guess. 

As I was on my own I didn't want to walk too far away so did two smaller walks one away from the lake and the other to the side of the lake.  Stunning views.

For those that don't know Haweswater is a reservoir and was built in 1929.  To build it two villages had to be demolished, graveyard uprooted and moved elsewhere.  Pub and church demolished.  It caused a lot of controversy at the time as you can imagine.

Now it is the 4th largest lake in the Lakes District and is the most easterly.  Also is pretty remote, very quiet and stunning and has a nature reserve.  It was home to England's only Golden Eagle until 2015.  Sadly there are no more  No boats allowed on the lake, nor swimming.  

The only building by the lake is The Haweswater Hotel.  This has recently undergone some refurbishment and is being done in the art deco style of 1937 when it was built and is rather gorgeous.  

I had called in there on arrival hoping for a coffee, but they don't open the cafe/restaurant/bar until 12 noon, but the gentleman on Reception kindly offered me to use the facilities - how could I decline.

I did go there for lunch and had a really lovely lunch and cold drink..

Weather was windy but lovely with lovely blue skies and cloud and gorgeous light for photography.  I want to go again for a walk this time.

For those that are interested here are a couple of links about Haweswater and Haweswater Hotel.
Haweswater Hotel
Haweswater 

Hope you've all  had a nice day.  I will catch up on your blips after dinner.  See you all tomorrow.#

I'm also entering this in for Tiny Tuesday.   There are several tiny foxgloves to the front of the main photo I think.  Theme is Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder".  Well for me this does meet that.  Thanks to loisbiz for hosting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.