Baboon on Watch

This is a back blip as it was difficult to keep up with posting while on my vacation.  We arrived home from Cape Town yesterday evening, after a 36 hour trip, 23 of which were on a plane.  It was well worth it.  All four of us agree that it was the best adventure we have ever taken.  I can't say enough about the lovely people, landscape, food, and yes, wildlife.  

This is one of my favorite memories, and I'm not entirely sure why.  I suppose it's the beauty of the animal, and the relaxed pose, set in a majestic marula tree.  This male is keeping watch for the troop.  As with many of the animals we encountered, he is cautious and observant, but not skittish.  Conservation and respect for the animals is a top priority for our safari company, as well as the others we saw in the region.  The rangers have practiced a great deal of patience over a long period of time,  allowing the animals to carry on with their normal behaviors.  I have attempted to capture some of the sights, my husband took videos to capture the sounds, and I wish I could have bottled up the smells of traveling in an open jeep though the African bush.

I have enjoyed reading the comments some of you fellow blippers have left about your experiences in South Africa.  It looks like I'm not the only one who thinks it's a magical place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.