Following the crowd

Faute de mieux, I'm following the crowd in blipping one of the Oor Wullie Bucket Trail sculptures. This is Sherlock Holmes and he was designed, apparently, by Ian Rankin. He's sitting, as can be seen, in Old College. Perhaps it's because I wasn't brought up in Scotland, and so it was no part of my childhood, but I'm pretty indifferent to Oor Wullie. But when pressed for a blip on a rather dull day, it does the job.

After taking that photograph, I wandered across the central area to attend a lecture by David Miliband. It was moderately interesting, and it was great to attend a lecture hosted by an institute I used to run that I didn't have to take any responsibility for. I saw GK and LS outside, and was able to give GK a big hug to congratulate him for his recent success. They are off to Spain tomorrow, so I won't see them at the weekend. I didn't stay for the drinks. That's also something different about not being an organiser! I don't miss any of it, to be honest, including the opportunity to dine for the university. I was much happier with bangers and mash for my tea at home, and the opportunity to do some more thinking about Chapter 2 on which I'm currently stuck.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.