Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

Prairie

a bank of white clouds
hides the setting sun from me
irritatingly

Not a great day; I suppose it's understandable but I hate being in that state when things just bounce around in my head and I have the feeling nothing that needs done is actually getting done. Not that there's much of it, mind you, and I did manage to get a little done but still. I feel irritable, which is not a state I'm used to, and it's making me uncomfortable. I guess it's the prospect of being away from home for a while that's getting to me, too, and having to find a solution for the cats while we're gone - and that I can't seem to make the printer work when I have papers to print and fill in for the hospital.

The surgeon called, as I had questions for him. I learned things, notably that I only have cysts at the top of my spine (well, in the dorsals). What is blocking my left leg is actually oedema in the spine's "sheath" so to speak, so he won't have to cut me up in several places but just one. His aim is to be able to open the cysts wide enough that they are totally drained and can't just fill up again. Only if he isn't happy with how well he was able to open them will he have to put a permanent drain in. This might still happen, because he told me he only had a 2- or 3-mm window to access the cysts... So we'll see.

A bit of added stress as I learned that the head doctor at our social security system (the regional branch) has put my request for medical transportation from the hospital to the recovery centre on hold. After a few calls, I was able to learn that it is only pending further information from the ambulance company.

I can't wait till we're on the train to Paris, to be honest. At least by then everything will have been sorted, and I'll only have to think of relaxing until op day (seeing friends, doing fun things). Then I can just deliver myself into the able hands of nurses and doctors and enjoy the ride hope for the best.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.