ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Crystallised.

I was planning on being in work early today, but just before I left I noticed the thin film of spindly frost coating everything in our garden with spikes. So I spent a cold 15 minutes in my slippers taking shots of leaves, flowers and branches... It was a fiercely-fought contest with the other two contenders on my Blipfolio.

Once I'd actually made it into the office, I was incredibly busy all day - and at about lunchtime the weather turned wet, foggy and dark, so I felt quite smug about my early Blip! After a day of death-by-excel-spreadsheet, I headed home to sort out some dinner for HuskyLugs and M. I'd made enough 'happy cow' veggie burgers to feed H and I, but M had to go with a 'sad cow' meat burger. I'm pretty sure he wasn't bothered! We ate them with corn on the cob, salad and feta - scrummy. We were going to be all civilised and use the dining-room table, but The Harbour was on BBC1 and we had to watch that and eat on our laps instead. I really enjoy that program - mundane becomes special when it's portraying what's on your doorstep!

H and I had a lovely catch-up while M pottered about the house and did some work - she was telling me all the Uni gossip I've missed out on my not going for an MRes/PhD when I finished my BSc. I do get jealous sometimes, but I don't think I was ever cut out for Academia really - I have my Honours, and that's enough for me! I love my job too much to go back, too. We made our way through a lovely bottle of vino, and we both promised to not leave it so long before our next dinner. M had already headed to bed when I made it upstairs; I hope his sniffles that seem to have developed disappear before Friday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.