Heavy Cargo.

Woke late this morning after the Ball. I'm so disappointed it's all over! It was such a fantastic night and one I'd been looking forward to weeks. Still, it's the party season just now, and we have a Christmas Party to look forward to later in December, and my birthday coming up just before Christmas and then New Year... So maybe my dress will get another outing!

I was half-expecting a sore and fuzzy head today, but it just didn't materialise - M and I did very well by drinking lots of water and getting a full 8-hours' sleep. When we eventually made it downstairs, we couldn't be bothered making breakfast - it was nearly lunchtime anyway! - so we got dressed and wandered into town for soup and a wrap at Pret-a-Manger; and lovely it was too.

After brunch, we headed back home and slept for a little while on the sofa. Not hungover, just tired and ready for a break after a busy week - just what we both needed. M drove us both out to the beach later on where we had a VERY cold walk along the Boulevard and saw this cargo vessel sailing from the harbour. It has to be one of the largest vessels I've seen in Aberdeen - we normally just see the anchor handlers, supply vessels and DSVs along with the pilots and tugs. The light was just gorgeous, but I think this photo looks cold. Go large to see the pilot boat guiding the cargo vessel out :)

On our way home, we picked up the ingredients for a lamb curry with potatoes and spinach, which I cooked when we got back and left in the oven at a low temparature for a couple of hours. M slept next to me on the sofa while I shopped online for Christmas decorations (harder than it sounds - I ended up buying nothing). After dinner, M and I walked over to his Mum and Dad's (only 5 doors down from us) to find that they had heated up the wood-fired hot tub (M makes them from scratch), so we had a glass of prosecco while we sat in the warm water, star-gazing. It was a wonderful night, so quiet and still with geese flying south for the winter honking in V-shapes overhead, their bellies lit up by the city lights. Saturday perfection.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.