Bauble.

Another of those cold, clear days today. When M and I got up, I made an extra-large batch of pancakes for our breakfast and saved some over for later... After coffee, M tidied and cleaned the house and I baked a cake - preserved ginger sponge layered on tinned apricots and the syrup from the preserved ginger. It turned out really well, especially after an apricot-jam glaze. It (and the pancakes) were ready just in time for M's Mum, Dad and youngest sister arriving for coffee - I think they were quite impressed! We made a dent in the cake and had a good chatter, and I sent the remainder of the cake away with M's Mum to use up and avoid my own temptation!

When they left, M and I took another walk at the beach which was an almost idential to yesterday's - cold but enjoyable. On our way back, M dropped me at Union Square where I found the most gorgeous set of glass baubles in Paperchase - gold, cream and bronze in a mix of matt, shiny and glitter and all quite classic looking - except that they were only about half an inch across! Beautiful and delicate-looking. Perfect for a Christmassy macro :)

When I got home, M and I heated up the remaining curry for tea and demolished a couple of naan breads too - I must make it to the gym next week! We watched The Harbour on BBC2 and M lit the woodburner so we spent the evening lazily watching TV. Had such a great weekend and (now I've bought the baubles) I'm so excited for Christmas!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.