A day in the life

By Shelling

Over and out

I did my last day at work today. Partly I took care of serving the knitting course Ive been administrating, also finishing today, partly I mentally said goodbye to the buildings and the rooms I've been working in for the last fifteen years of my life. An environment not dissimilar to the one I spent twenty three years doing more or less the same thing, in Härnösand in the northern part of Sweden. The extra is a good representation of what my daily, practical work space could look like. 

I have loved the challenge of working closely to young people, taking an active part in their development towards some sort of adulthood where they learnt to take responsibility for their own part in the whole, creating and communicating music together with others. Some of them has continued on the musical path some have not but they have all achieved a humanistic way of being with other people through what they learnt in the classroom and on stage together with their fellow musicians. 

It was a long day, the day before midsummer festivities here in Sweden and the weather was warm and nice. When I got home I soon ended up in front of my favourite view, I don't mean the beer, where I spent a long time trying to sort out my thoughts and emotions. I guess the near future will be a mix of reflection and, understanding what it is like living in between one identity and another.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.