Union Street Bustle.

While M and I were curled up on our sofa last night, we missed the Christmas Lights Switch On Parade on Union Street! I captured it last year (badly), but this year I just have the lights for you. They do look lovely and twinkly against the black sky.

A busy day at work today with a meeting in the morning followed by a 'town hall style' business update for the company I work for. It seemed to go on for an awfully long time; although there was mild excitement halfway through when the projector exploded.

When I got home, I cooked dinner for M and a friend of his from Nautical College, who has stuck the course through thick and thin (mostly thin); M had left 2 and a half years ago, after predicting that the course wouldn't see him off in the direction he wanted to go - and that the College itself was doomed to run itself into the ground in the near future. True to his prophecy, C told us that although she should be graduating early next year, the College had messed up with the periods its cadets had been at sea - and they didn't have enough experience to graduate. As a result, she'll graduate almost a year late, and will still have to complete another 9-month trip to sea, after only having 2 and a half weeks at home. To cap it all off, finding work on boats at the level she'd be aiming for is becoming increasingly difficult. She's decided to stick it out and get her ticket, but I've told her I'll pass on her CV to my company if she would like me to in the future. She'd fit in well with us - and I imagine she might be happier too. It's so scary to make a change when you've invested so much in one direction though; I feel very sorry for her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.