Let Them Eat Cake.

Oh dear. I spent all day today feeling like a total fud. M is being lovely to me even though I was a horrible cow last night and I deserve a slap on the wrist. I'm not a good drunk person - that short temper that I sometimes struggle to keep under control at the best of times seems to get even shorter. Luckily M is the most forgiving person I know and it's water off a duck's back - but I couldn't feel any worse about it. Guilt guilt guilt!

This morning I did a fair amount of grovelling, and made us quite a nice breakfast with LOTS of coffee (mainly for my benefit!) then carried on baking cakes for our coffee morning, while M collected additional chairs and tables for our guests, and laid the fire.

By lunchtime, the table was laden with home-made empire biscuits, scones, pancakes, a chocolate cake, ginger and lemon cupcakes, cheese and ham sandwiches, (shop-bought) sausage rolls and enough tea and coffee to fill... Well, 9 people! M's Mum, Dad, Sister, Sister's boyfriend, Granny, Grampa and not-actually-an-Aunty arrived soon after, and we had a lovely time drinking coffee and chatting away. I even got to use my Granny's set of crockery that I've been saving for years (until I had a house big enough to accomodate it all)!

After our guests had pottered off home, M watched the Grand Prix while I walked down to the Bridge of Dee to do some shopping for our dinner - he had to come and pick me up for the journey back, though, as I'd over-shopped and my bags were too heavy!

Curled up watching one of my favourite films of all time tonight - Crash. A lovely busy weekend, spent with family and friends. I'm a very lucky girly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.