Brrrr, hello winter. It was blizzard-y in Aberdeen for most of the day, on and off, today. When I woke up I felt quite unwell (perhaps the sudden change in temperature) and struggled through my day at work until 2pm, at which point I gave up and went home. I did manage a couple of pictures in the morning though - the other is on my folio.

After a casual 3-hour nap on the sofa (under a blanket and a dressing gown, with the electric fire on 2-bar!) I felt a lot better, and instead of sitting on my bum at my house watching TV, I decided to sit on my bum at the cinema watching a Christmas film.

I met N and V from my office at Union Square and we went to see Rise of the Guardians. I can't praise that film enough, it was blooming brilliant. So, so funny and innocent - no drugs, sex or violence - what a change from the films I usually end up watching. Sometimes I feel like seeing something gritty or thriller-ish, but sometimes a feel-good film is just the best. The characters were brilliant, and it was very touching in parts, but mostly just laugh-out-loud funny. The little, non-speaking elves stole the show, especially the grumpy one that played the tuba. Hugh Jackman was a brilliant Easter Bunny and Santa was ace - with his tattoos of the 'naughty list' on one arm, and the 'nice list' on the other.

We walked home up a cold and icy Union Street - amazingly there were still girls out with bare legs and high heels... They must have been frozen. When I got home I rang Mum for a wee chat and then headed off to bed early with my hot water bottle and a lemsip... Hopefully I can banish this cold before it really gets going.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.