Saratoga Springs ....

.... day 2.

With Richard off to his seminar I had the day to myself ..... and I did lots of things to keep myself busy!

As I was hoping to find the cemetery that I came across the last time we were here I headed out on a short road trip .... heading out to Saratoga National Historical Park. Unfortunately, I couldn't find Caldwell Cemetery but I did find another one .... Gerald BH Solomon Saratoga National Cemetery. There's something about military cemeteries that's so poignant and heartbreaking.  I stumbled upon this grave of an unknown Civil War soldier quite by accident.  According to one of the groundskeepers it's the only grave that's older than 20 years old as the cemetery isn't that old.  

On the way back to the B&B (for a quick lunch) I stopped at the Saratoga Monument .... pictured in my extra collage.  This monument is 155 feet tall and is in honor of the "hometown" victories at Saratoga during the Revolutionary War. 

I returned to the B&B for lunch on their veranda.  In one of the berry trees there were some Cedar Waxwings taking full advantage of the ripe berries!  We don't see them here much so I was very excited to see them and took lots of pictures! I have included one in the collage .... bottom right. 

As I mentioned yesterday Congress Park is one of my favorite places in Saratoga Springs so after lunch I went back there and spent the rest of the afternoon until R got done with his seminar.  I love watching all the ducks, ducklings, squirrels, chipmunks and people!  I also got a lot of reading done!  I'm reading "The Martian" by Andy Weir for my book club which meets in July.  I had seen the movie .... which I enjoyed very much.  The book can be quite "space technical" but I'm enjoying reading it. 

We had supper at the BBQ place that was closed yesterday and then went back to Congress Park for a while so that R could spend time there as well.  

Another day done ....


Backblipped: June 21, 2019 .... slowing trying to catch up.  More to come later ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.