Saratoga Springs ....

Day 3.

After another delicious breakfast … today was blueberry muffins and a Southwestern style eggs burrito type thingy …. I went to Yaddo Gardens.  I had read about this place and wanted to check it out. As I was having breakfast I mentioned the gardens to the young lady that was serving me and she highly recommended going.  In fact, she said that she used to work there! What a small world!

The gardens were beautiful … even if the weather wasn’t.  It was overcast with a slight mist in the air at times. But that didn’t stop me from enjoying all the lovely roses in bloom.  My main blip shows just a sampling of all the lovely roses and other things.  Shown here is a painted rock that I found at Yaddo.  On the back of the rock there are some hashtags (#LLH Rocks, #HarleysDream) for calling to the end of puppy mills.  Checking them out I discovered the story of Harley …. A dog that spent the first 10 years of his life in a cramped, filthy cage in a puppy mill. 

While I was still at Yaddo I looked up on eBird to see where there have been bird sightings around the Saratoga Springs area.  I found a nature trail nearby and drove to it.  By now the weather had become quite warm and humid so I didn’t get far on the trail before it became unbearable.  I was getting quite a headache by this time so I decided to go back to the B&B for lunch and to possibly lay down for a bit. We have a fun evening planned and I wanted to feel okay later on.

My nap didn’t amount to much as I was thinking about too many things. One of those things involved my SIL* … who we are seeing again this evening.  When we were at her home on Monday she mentioned that her late husband liked sunflowers but none of the seeds she planted took root.  I looked up and called a couple of nurseries in the area and found a place that had some potted sunflowers.  After resting up a little bit more I drove to this nursery to see what they had.  The plants weren’t exactly what I was looking for but the young man was so excited that someone was interested in buying something that he had started from seed that I couldn’t say no! They weren’t that expensive so I walked away with six small sunflower plantlings. She’s going to love these!

I spent the rest of the afternoon in Congress Park (see extra) before picking up Richard from his seminar. Ironically we also found out from my SIL that her daughter (our niece) lives on Saratoga Lake!  What are the odds!  We had called her up last night and arranged to have dinner with her and SIL tonight!  We drove to Karen’s beautiful home on the lake and had a wonderful evening!  It had been a very long time since we had seen Karen so I was nice to catch up on all things! And we met her son, Nolan.  And her two beautiful kitties, too!

As we were leaving the sun setting over the lake was spectacular and we simply had to stop for a few pictures (in extra).  When we returned to the B&B we did most of the packing as we are leaving tomorrow. Richard’s seminar is only half day but we have to be checked out the B&B before that ends. I will be able to have breakfast here but then I will check us out before picking him up later.

*SIL – Sister-in-law


Backblipped: July 7, 2019

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.