We made it

Having slept a bit better than the previous nights I was up earlier than I have been recently.

The boys went off on their walk and HtP arrived to help pack the car. He then drove his van back to his house and I followed in my car. Having dropped his van off The holiday began.

To make the journey easier I had packed cough medicine, hot honey and lemon and elderberry syrup in water.

I helped navigate around any of the potential delays and we made good time to Carlisle. We are staying in an Airbnb flat in an old mill. It’s really lovely.

As it was a lovely evening we went for a walk along the River Caldew into town. The verges near the flood defences were fully of lovely flowers.

We had intended to eat at a recommended pub but we weren’t sure if I would be well enough to go. But having walked into town we realised that we were close enough to eat as we had intended. It was a really lovely meal.

It was still a lovely evening as we left. We watched some starlings circling around and there was lots of chattering as they all settled in the trees for the night.

We walked back. Hopefully all of the exercise will mean that I sleep well tonight.

The extra is the cathedral reflected in the not very nice modern building across the toad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.