Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Locked Out

Backblip, Camping Day

At 4:30 this morning, I got up to use the bathroom and I noticed the 'Check' light was lit on the refrigerator.  From past experience, I know that means that we're out of propane.  Besides, it was freezing inside because we had no heat either.  For some reason, propane never runs out during the day.  It's always during the night when we can't do anything about it.  Bless his heart, PD bundled up and went out to check the bottles but they were indeed both empty.  I guess we had lost a lot more than we realized with our leak before leaving.  Even though the campground was pretty empty, we didn't want to bother anyone by turning on our generator to run the fridge off electricity so we went back to sleep.  I awakened again to the sound of PD removing the propane bottles at about 7 am and then I heard him leave in the truck. I knew it would be about 40 minutes until he got back so I put on sweats over my pajamas and my fuzzy bathrobe over them.  I added my knit cap and went out to turn on the generator.  When I went back to the camper the door was locked and I was stuck outside.  Fortunately, I bundled up before going out but I was still cold!  I knew it would be a while so I sat down and within a few miutes it started to rain!  I found a dry place under some trees and waited there until PD got back.  He was very sympathetic and hardly laughed at all.

We got everything up and running again, cranked up the heat in the camper and made our first pot of coffee.  The rain lasted all day except for a few times when it stopped and the sun came out for a few minutes.  By the time we could get outside to enjoy the sun, it clouded over again and was soon raining.  So it turned out to be a coffee and Netflix day.  Piper insisted on being outside but she stayed under the camper where she was cozy and dry.  I'm glad we have comfortable chairs and TV in the camper for rainy days!

My blip is a Black-billed Magpie that I managed to capture between raindrops.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.