flavia13

By flavia13

KIRKBY STEPHEN AND PENDRAGON CASTLE

Weather was lovely today.  Beautiful sunrise about 4.00 am, what I saw of it anyway.  Then I woke up again about 8.30 it was very cloudy.  However the sun came out again so all was good.

I took G Kirkby Stephen.  I thought it would be quieter there than round The Lakes, being a Saturday.  It was fairly busy but nicely so.  Kirkby Stephen is in the beautiful Eden Valley and it is often quieter than The Lakes or The Dales at busy times.  Kirkby always feels so remote and doesn't have a huge amount there but the church is large and the area is steeped in history as well as myths and legends.

In the church I saw an unusual stone in the grounds with a perfect hole in the middle.  I've read somewhere, but now can't find it but understand several houses have them and they were to protect houses from witches!!!  (see second extra)

The idea was to wander round the town, go into the church as that is always a great place to learn about the history of places  We were then going to go down to the river to take some photos and have a seat.  Well we did two of those things.

After visiting the friendly bookshop and Tourist Information Centre we got persuaded to go to the WI fundraising coffee morning in the Village Hall.  They were raising funds for the North West Air Ambulance so it's always good to support that.  However there was only 15 minutes left before they had to pack up due to another event being scheduled in.  I did have a go on the tombola and won a packet of cress seeds!!!!!!  

G then started getting wobbly so we went for lunch at the Pennington Arms (cafe across the road was full).  After that G did't really feel he was able to go for a walk by the river as he was getting wobbly.  He stabilises when he has been sitting for a while.  So we went in search of Pendragon Castle.

After a few false turns we found the correct road an found it - yeah  There were two mini bus loads of young people there so I almost gave up but it appears they were camping or hostelling somewhere and were packing up to go.  As it turned out I was the only one walking round the outside of the ruins so it was great.  G couldn't manage it but I'm glad I did.  

Pendragon Castle is reputed to have been founded by Uther Pendragon, the father of King Arthur. According to legend, Uther Pendragon and a hundred of his men were killed here when the Saxon invaders poisoned the well. There are also claims that the Romans built at least a temporary fort here, along the road between their forts at Brough and Bainbridge. But (apart from legend and supposition), there is no real evidence that there was any building here before the Normans built their castle in the 12th Century.  Here is a link for those interested:-
Pendragon Castle


Here are also a couple of link about Kirkby Stephen.
Kirkby Stephen1
Kirkby Stephen2

I hope it's OK to put these links in as I believe some people are interested.  I know I love to know a little of the history of places I visit and am always very keen on Myths and Legends of anywhere I go.

There is a a photo of the church in the extras.  Also there is an anusual stone in the grounds of the church with a hole in it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.