The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Stroud4Europe campaigner

Unfortunately you can't see the yellow stars on his beret. The group was out canvassing opinion near the Farmers market in Nailsworth this morning.

Steve and I had a stall each at the market. The weather was perfect, proper summer at last! Unfortunately the rent is so high that I didn't make much profit. Steve did very well. My friend, whom I shall call Q, turned up and had some flowers she needed to arrange at the back of our stall, for a party later. We dropped her off at the village hall where the party was to take place, then went home.

I had some soup, fed the cats next door, and then had a quick bath in order to prepare for the same party. I waited in the street for my friend to pick me up, but she was late, so I got a deckchair and just sat put listening to old songs on Spotify.

When we got back to the village hall party (why DO people have parties in the afternoon?) I couldn't get settled into any conversations. I talk all week! Friend with car and I went to play in the adjacent children's playground - we'd had some Limonzino, only 4%, watered down - and went on the zip wire and the seesaw, and that was a great help. I was able to go back and join the party, while occasionally taking small parties of adults over to try the zip wire.

The food was great, and the weather excellent. Entertainment was provided, but I didn't participate as I once might have done. Too tired.

Eventually we left. I was slightly sorry to go early, but the two Alices I was talking to were both leaving, and I couldn't face sweeping the floor at the end. When we got back I chilled out in the cabin with Spotify and a book, and now I'm watching Cardiff Singer of the Year with Bomble sitting on my arm. He's heavy.

Just a thought, when did I last have a Saturday free? Usually if I'm on holiday I travel on a Saturday. Perhaps I should try to arrange a free day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.