Farewell Mont Ventoux

Mr hazelh and I going to miss this wonderful view when we return to our Edinburgh basement later today. We are grateful, however, that we are leaving Provence in good time to avoid predicted temperatures of as high as 39 degrees next week. I photographed Mont Ventoux from the terrace just before Andy drove Mr hazelh and me to the railway station at Orange first thing this morning.

Today we have had long waits at both Marseille and Brussels airports (from where I am posting my blip). However, we have been well entertained while waiting for our flights with books (me) and downloaded films (Mr hazelh). I finished Angela's Ashes by Frank McCourt and Ghachar Chochar by Vivek Shanbhag, both of which I enjoyed.

Although I don't officially return to work until Tuesday, I summoned up the courage this afternoon to take a peek at my email backlog. I am now familiar with its contents and have a good sense of how I will prioritise my work next week. That said, I doubt that I will manage to reply to every message that is languishing in the backlog before Friday. This is because my calendar is packed with work commitments over the next few days, including a trip to London and another day that will be devoted mainly to a PhD viva.

We really have had a wonderful holiday split between the Outer Hebrides and the south of France, but we know now that it is time to return to everyday life in Edinburgh.

Exercise today: small amount of airport walking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.