Kirkjubøur

Sunday brought another wee expedition, this time to Kirkjubøur. 

It is the most southerly village on Streymoy and was a 8.3 km hike across to the west of the island.

It is the site of the country's most important historical site with the ruins of Magnus Cathedral from around 1300, St Olav's Church (Olavskirkjan) from the12th century and the old farmhouse Kirkjubøargarður from the 11th century. 

The hike and end location were stunning with views of Hestur, Koltur and Sandoy. The weather was as stunning as the scenery - more surfer’s nose. 

I had planned to hike back too, but when I saw a local bus ready to leave I jumped on to save both my legs and my nose. The Bussleiðin are free, which is a nice change in such an expensive place. 

The Blip is the trail I was following. The cairns mark the trail, and are historic. Locals used to walk to parliament in Tórshavn. Extras are a view of Koltur from the trail, and Kirkjubøur.  

Sunset was at 23:20 last night. The birds’ dawn chorus started soon after. It did not get dark - just not quite so light. 

More trivia - I've been here 3 days and have still to see a police officer (or police car). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.