Island

I have moved further north, and west a bit.

Reykjavík.

Yes, Atlantic Airways again. My first sight of Iceland was the Vatnajökull icecap from the plane window.   

Now I am settling in to my Airbnb flat in the suburbs, but a 10 minute cycle (bikes come with the flat) from the city centre. It is a “real” Airbnb, with the owners living in the house upstairs. 

Reykjavik seems very busy after sleepy wee Tórshavn. 

The Blip is Hallgrímskirkja. I can see why it would have been a controversial design for a landmark site. Beyond that “I couldn’t possibly comment”.

The Extras are also from the city centre. The first is just a perfect encapsulation of that Monday feeling. 

In the second, steam is coming out of the metal chimneys beside the columns. I guess it is some kind of thermal vent. Weather forecasts here also include how many earthquakes were registered in the previous 48 hours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.