Midnight Sun

The day started with watching sunset at 00:00 precisely. The sea is only 200m from my flat, and gave an ideal backdrop for looking west/northwest. The sun disappeared behind a cloud about 23:45, but still…

Was it a highlight of today, or a highlight of yesterday? Both, I suppose. Blip has accepted a shot as an Extra for today, even although it was taken yesterday. 

8 hours later I was enjoying being a bit lazy over coffee and breakfast in the flat. 

I cycled into the city at lunchtime and visited the National Museum (which I will not try to write in Icelandic) and the Culture House (ditto). It is a country I know very little about, so those seemed like good places to start.

The cafe at the National Museum looked attractive, so I chose it for my late, light lunch. A slice of quiche, a piece of cake and a cappuccino (Extras). Absolutely delicious. Hit the spot. And all for just 2,990 ISK. That’s £19.90 (€22.20). 

Life in Iceland…

The heating in the flat is geothermal, and although the radiators are switched off, the in-pipes in the shower/laundry room are hot and heat the whole apartment. I have all the windows open although it is 12⁰c and cloudy outside. The hot water from the taps is very hot indeed.

200m away from the flat is Laugardalur - “Hot Springs Valley” - the geothermal area which used to supply all the city’s hot water.       

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.