The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Northern Enlightenment

We are nothing but chestnuts roasting near an open fire, fully devoted to the north woods that will be our home for the next few days.

I know that many people run from it, but there is something extraordinarily magical about winter. To me, winter is something special and it may represent nature in its purest form. The pure light, the crisp air, the blanket of snow that deafens the normal hum of this over-active Earth. This season is unlike any other season, as wonderful as they may be.

I could go on and on about being here in the serenity of this land at this time of year but, I am exhausted and very badly wanting to crawl into bed. I will say this: I do not think it is possible to have had a more divine weather day in Minnesota in December. It was warm enough to be comfortable, cool enough to be invigorating, bright enough to be enlightening and muted enough to be soothing. For fourteen hours I soaked it all in, detached from every cord that I could manage to severe. And when it was over, I found myself wanting more.

That is why there is tomorrow.

On most days, Bonnie and I take dozens of images of our beloved BB and Bravo. Yet, we post all too few. So today, Bravo took things into his own paws and decided to create his own Blipfoto account. I was shocked to find out that he was tech savvy, but since he does not have opposable thumbs, perhaps Bonnie and I might lend him a paw from time to time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.