Beetroot and radish

Well hopefully anyway. I was at the allotment from 8 until 9.30 sorting out a few bits and planting. Planted more runner bean seeds in the vain hope that some will be left for us.

This morning we left mum and dad’s at 11.30 and drove to the dump where we dumped all the waste from yesterday’s jobs.

Drove on from there to Melbourn and visited Jon’s parents, had a cup of tea and bit of lunch. We eventually got home at about 4.30. Kids had prepared veg and the oven was on, so I only had to put the chicken in. Then Mollie and I went for a run. I was due to do day 2 of week 6, but feeling very tired after a busy weekend, so will Mollie went back to where she was and did week 5 day 1. It won’t do me any harm to do that week again, and is nicer to run with each other. She is much fitter than me, and wasn’t even puffed ( unlike me, who is always puffed out by the end) so perhaps we could have persevered with week 6 after all!

At dinner, a rare occasion all 5 of us, as usually Dan or Mollie, or both are missing, we talked a bit about our upcoming holiday in the Lake District. They had been looking at the cottage we will be staying at. We are all looking forward to it, although not so the drive. It’s a long way from here!!

Then the allotment, where I’d been told Minnie has been roaming free! She was back in her run when I got there, but no eggs. One broken shell, so something is getting them - rats I presume? There was evidence she had roamed - dust bath patches between the potatoes. I’m not too worried. Planted 4 rows each of beetroot, radish and lettuce.

Picked a few more strawberries then cycled back in the almost dark, to finish my day with a hot bath.

It has been a tiring weekend for all of us, but I’m hoping we didn’t tire dad out too much. Now the gazebo is up in their garden, they will be able to enjoy the summer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.