Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Why do we collect?

When I was 8 I went to London with my mother on a school trip. It was her secondary school. There were two teachers and each had a daughter of nearly the same age.

We had a brilliant trip. One day I bought (or it was bought for me) the tea caddy spoon the the middle (it says Westminster Abbey). On the tube I dropped the box and the man who saw this and retrieved it was one of the actors in the Brian Rix farce we went to see that night. I was star struck and delighted. Shame I can't remember his name.

After that I collected spoons when we went on holiday and other people gave them to me. These are some of them. There are even some silver ones, but they all need polishing so are not included here. This is just some of the collection.

Now I need to part with them. I don't use them. I don't have them on show!! Does anyone still collect them I wonder?

Today included the man from the insurers coming to see the poor workmanship in Mum's bedroom. He could not understand how much plaster dust and rubble had been in the wardrobe.....
The result is that "we'll put it right" and he is sending workmen on Wednesday and Thursday. Am I confident? No, but I'm tired out with the whole business.

Mum can't start to use the hospital bed either. We have it on a two week trial, although I'm sure they will extend that if we need to.

Lesley came and started decorating my lounge. I wish all the people who came to work were like her.

The man from the kitchen fitter did not come because someone had decided he didn't need to, but did not let me know.

It rained or was hot and muggy all day and that did not help.

This morning I found Oscar outside the house, drenched and hungry. We thought he was inside last night............will he forgive us?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.